Vinyl Theatre Rocks Out The Foundry 9.12

Ryan Bowman

Fresh off their latest release Starcruiser, Milwaukee-based alt-rockers Vinyl Theatre made a stop at The Foundry in Philadelphia on their headlining tour. Their newest album was released just a few weeks ago (you can read our review of it here) and they embarked on the tour supporting the album that started last week. The band is made up of Keegan Calmes (vocals, guitar), Chris Senner (keyboard, piano, synth), and Nick Cesarz (drums). They started their career by signing with Fueled by Ramen and releasing “Electrogram” in 2014 before supporting Twenty One Pilots on a national tour. Since then they have toured all around the country with bands like Smallpools, Misterwives, The Mowglis, and Dashboard Confessional and released their sophomore album, Origami, in 2016.


After opening sets from The Catching and Royal Teeth, the small but energetic crowd was ready for them to take the stage. Donning futuristic space suits and making a dramatic entrance to the stage, they opened with “We Make the Music,” from their newest album. Their unique electronic indie-pop sound kept the crowd dancing as the set-list alternated between their two newest albums. They included a cover of Awolnation’s “Sail,” while adding their own electronic riffs on the iconic tune. Frontman Keegan Calmes kept the crowd engaged throughout their set as he transitioned from more energetic, up-beat songs to melodic slower tunes.


Their last few songs included the catchy, heart-pumping “30 Seconds,” their first single from Origami and they finished up with the first song they released that put them into the spotlight, “Breaking Up My Bones.” The Starcruiser Tour continues across the country until the beginning of November and you can find more info about the band and upcoming shows on their website.


Check out the setlist from the show below:

  1. We Make the Music
  2. The Island
  3. New Machines
  4. Shine On
  5. Our Song
  6. Sail
    (AWOLNATION cover)
  7. Knock Knock
  8. Vandals
  9. Masterpiece
  10. Me, Myself, and I
  11. Don’t Worry
  12. My Fault
  13. Day In Day Out
  14. Never Thought This Would Happen
  15. 30 Seconds
  16. Feel It All
  17. Breaking Up My Bones

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s